hushSo I finally left the house today.  I made myself get a decent nights sleep (4 hours) last night so that I could get up and go out today.  I went to my favorite spot to shoot nature and let’s just say it did not go as planned.  When I arrived, the parking lot was empty.  So I walked around and began shooting.  Then a city truck pulls up and a man gets out.  He walks past me and looks at me but does not say anything.  He proceeds to walk into the grassy field, not on the trail.  Hmm… It would not be so weird if he was not in his work vehicle perhaps.  So I pretend I am taking a picture but continue to watch him with my eye that is non focusing eye.  He takes a couple of steps into these bushes and then walks out.  HUH???  As he starts walking back towards me, I decide I am not going to risk it and get into my car and leave.

I returned a few minutes later and he was gone.  Thank goodness.  There is a woman standing in the parking lot smoking a cigarette, but other than that, the place is still empty.  By this time I have decided I am not going deep into the woods.  I am going to stay right in the front area and get a couple of shots of the dried flora & fauna.  Suddenly, I feel someone watching me.  I turn and the smoking lady is gone.  But as I continue to look, I see a man (not there earlier) standing under the gazebo.  He has on a heavy jacket and a backpack and is staring straight at me.  When he realizes I see him staring at me, he turns a 180 degrees and stays that way.

At this point I am freaking.  I cannot really get back to my car without going by the gazebo.  And there is just something about him that gives me very bad vibes.  At this point I look over and notice a teenage kid (16-17) headed into the area.  He leaps very casually over the poles from the parking area, straight past the man, seemingly unaware that either the man or I are here.  He continues walking towards me.  I realize then that he has his i-pod in his ears.  I motion to him and apologize but tell him that I need his help.  Now mind you this kid is not very big, but I figured at least if the man knew someone was watching he would go on.  So I tell the boy, “There is a man over there and he has been watching me.  I need to get back to my car and I am afraid he is going to follow me. Would you please stand here for just a minute while I get back to my car?”  My voice is all kinds of shaking and I am about to break down crying. Yes, I was THAT scared.  So the boy looks at me very seriously and says yes.

I turn and start walking and as I get about 20 feet from the man, he starts to walk towards me and says, “Hi. Are you cold?”  I just continue to walk to the car knowing he is right behind me.  As I walk, I am looking out of the corner of my eye because I can see his shadow.  I beep the  alarm for the doors to unlock, jump in quickly and slam the door locking it at the same time.  It takes me a second to see the man has paused and is staring at me now, standing only about 6 feet away.  I look in front of me and the young boy is still where I left him, watching what is taking place.  The man now walks away leaving the parking lot and as I continue to watch him and make sure he is still going, I look at the boy and flash my highbeams to let him know it is okay.

Although I have no idea how he could have helped me physically (as he was rather petite), I do know that he made me feel it was okay and that the man was not going to do anything.  I sat there and watched as the man disappeared onto the main road and the boy into the woods.  Then I turned and pulled out of the parking lot.  I know this young man will doubtfully ever read this, but I want to say thank you to him  nonetheless.

And just for the record, I will not be going to that park all alone anymore. I have been there many times by myself and never been bothered by anyone. And I figured with it being 20 something degrees surely no one would be out.  Lesson for today… never assume.

Leave a comment