Trespassing?  What’s that?  Well, today I took my first really big step into possible trespassing for a photo shoot.  Last weekend I got up as close as I could to get a picture of a barn and the guy pulled up just as I got the picture.  He was cool about it.  So… today I got a little more adventurous.  Emily was out at the mall with her buddies and I decided to go for a drive.  I had seen a house a few days ago that I thought was abandoned so I figured I would go and check it out.  Instead I find a burnt out house.  As I stepped up to the porch and could see into the windows, I realized the walls were black and there was ashes, etc everywhere.  I paused before actually taking a step up to the house.  As a child I had a terrible fear of fire, so much so that I would sleep with my baton beside my bed in case there was a firWdscn9877booster
e and I could not get the window open… my thought at age 9 was that I could break the window open to get out.

I was taken aback when I looked into the window and found this… It just seemed to call out for a photo (click for a larger image).Wdscn9845booster_2

I stepped up to the second window and found this desk and sewing machine.  Is this roll down desk not just absolutely beautiful?  So sad.  The woman of the house must have spent many hours here as there were bits of rolled up fabric still on the ground at the desk.
Wdscn9864

As I stood there observing through the windows, tears started welling up in my eyes.  Imagine the stories these walls could tell… Imagine the memories this family must have created… Finally, I gathered the nerve to go a little deeper.  I stepped into what I guess was the living room area and found this porch swing inside… the fire had damaged the entire chair, but there were strips hanging where it had just melted and clung to the chair… This is a closeup of the back side…
Wdscn9855

And this is the chair itself…
Wdscn98501

Then as I turned away from the chair and looked behind me I just about ran out of there!  There was a woman standing there with red hair and a green shirt on… Then I realized (being the dork that I am) that THAT IS ME!!!  In the bathroom, this mirror seemed to be hanging on for dear life. I could not get much closer (mostly out of fear of stepping on some of the boards and finding there was something living under there)…
Wdscn9858hazyreflections

It was very emotional, very saddening, very touching all at once.  I felt very nervous peeking in on this home… but at the same time I thought to myself and said a prayer that they have peace and happiness now in their new home, that all has worked out well and God has blessed them.

I left and traveled down a "road less traveled" for some more shots… Here are some of my faves.  Enjoy and I hope all of you are having a fabulous weekend… xoxo
Wdscn9870

Wdscn9875

Wdscn9874

Wdscn9879

More pictures from today posted on my flickr album: http://flickr.com/photos/thesoulschamber

One response to “Trespassing…”

  1. Miz Carla Avatar

    Hi Tia!! Your pics of OK in the fall make me so homesick 😦 I gotta tell ya gal when I read this…
    “There was a woman standing there with red hair and a green shirt on… Then I realized (being the dork that I am) that THAT IS ME!!!” I totally cracked up because i have done the same EXACT thing before! I guess that’s what we get for poking around abandoned old houses 😀

    xoxs
    C

Leave a comment