Bah Hum Bug

I am a bit bah-hum-bug right now. I don’t even know if I should be sharing all of this as I am feeling quite emotional at this time.   I have not enjoyed the holidays in several years.  The hubster is not a holiday person to begin with.  So for the last 8 years our holiday usually consists of the flurry of putting the tree up and getting it decorated.  This is all grand and I love this part of the holiday.  The hard part? Watching as it sits naked without gifts under it.  This happens because my daughter is a teenager and so gift certificates are a major gift to her.  And he and I do not exchange any gifts, except the letter he will write every few years.  I know there is so much more to Christmas than gifts.  But I would love to have an old fashioned Christmas filled with lots of gifts, the morning of opening gifts and exchanging gifts, a house full of family and friends, a big dinner where you just want to roll over and take a nap afterwards… The things I had as a young child.  I am doing my best to keep things positive right now, focusing on my art instead of the whirlwind around me.  I do not want a pity party.  Believe me, that is the last thing I need.  I am just saying that I am going to try to make this a good of year as possible even if it means just getting the heck out of the house on Christmas in order not to dwell on things.

On a much more positive note,  I am working on a new blog about my weight loss journey and will be starting that on Monday.  So bear with me.

I feel like I am jumping from project to project right now and not really finding what I need to fulfill me.  I have decided however to take a step back from portraiture and focus on my fine art.  I will not be quitting portraiture. If the opportunity comes alone, I will definitely take it.  However, I feel that my heart lies in fine art and that is where my soul is telling me to focus. So prepare to see more art pieces vs. faces.


5 thoughts on “Bah Hum Bug

  1. I wish you those things so much! I can feel the “pain” in your words.
    *damn teenagers and scrooge-y husbands* 😉
    Fill under your tree with presents for you from “Santa”…
    I think you should go in the direction you feel drawn to. Fine Art.
    Andrea

  2. Hi, Tia. I found your blog by way of Andrea’s Crownology. I’m feeling a little humbug myself – missing the Christmas mornings when my son was younger.

    I’m enjoying reading your blog and love your art. I’m an artist in my head ;). I just can’t seem to make the time to create. I’ve been a weightloss blogger for sometime now but want to have an art blog. We’ll see if I can get it going for 2010!

  3. first of all, this picture is quite stunning — took my breath away for a second 🙂
    secondly, don’t worry about the bah-humbug-ers that surround you! do what makes you happy around the holidays, joy is contagious. 🙂
    -shannon

Leave a Reply

