Overdose of “Annie”

annieEven though my birthday was the 28th of November, I knew in advance that I was going to be getting one delayed gift.  So tonight I received my birthday present from my friend Maureen, tickets to go see “Annie” on stage in Norman.  It was absolutely fabulous! We were joined by Stephanie, Arlie, and Terri at Saltgrass for dindin and then on to the theatre to see the show.  I was really impressed with the child actors in the show.  They had great voices and little Molly (played by a 7 yr old local girl) stole the show in my opinion.  She was a doll.

However, when I returned home, my dear daughter wanted to sit down and watch “Annie” on TV.  So we popped the VCR (yes VCR) tape in and watched it.  Now I am thinking I have had enough of “TOMORROW” for at least awhile…

Although it did get me thinking a bit…  I have a favorite show from my childhood, “Anne of Green Gables”.  I have read all of L.M. Montgomery’s books and of course watched all of the “Anne” movies.  There is a link to these two, Annie and Anne, besides the names.

Both are redheads, both are feisty, both are orphans, both orphans were planned to be boys when they were picked up but managed to get the people to keep them, and both sets of families fell in love with the “Ann(i)es”.

anne2I’m sure that if I dig deep enough I could find more similarities, but for now I am tired. And those thoughts will have to wait until “tomorrow”.

“There’s such a lot of different Annes in me. I sometimes think that is why I’m such a troublesome person. If I was just the one Anne it would be ever so much more comfortable, but then it wouldn’t be half so interesting.” ~L.M. Montgomery Anne of Green Gables

Leave a Reply

